top of page
img19.jpg
IMG_58641 (1).jpg

Erwan Noblet 

Voice Teacher / Singer / Improviser / Songwriter

 

Master of Music in CCM* voice pedagogy

Trained Vocologist (NCVS)

Screenshot (58).png
shenandoah.jpg
NCVS_edited.jpg
University of Guelph College of Arts.png

I am an explorer passionate about the voice and the emancipatory virtues of singing. Vocal technique, the body-voice connection, the emancipatory power of collective singing and vocal improvisation are at the heart of my research, teaching and artistic proposals.


Between 2012 and 2017, I decided to train as a singing teacher while developing my artistic projects after ten years as a singer in different musical groups of variety, rock, and soul-funk. I then did six months of training on vocal coaching at the Atla school in Paris, then studied the science and pedagogy of voice for three years with Allan Wright (TCM teacher training) in Nantes. I also took vocal jazz lessons with Monique Thomas in Bordeaux and Bob Stoloff in Paris. I also continued to be on stage with my electro-pop project Layenn, the musical piece Concert Room and the improvised show Airs de Rien with the Nantes collective Les Paillettes.


In 2017, I went to study the physiological and acoustic principles of voice production in the United States with Professor Ingo Titze (a distinguished American voice researcher) for two months. I travelled alone from Canada to Bolivia for the next ten months. It was a refreshing journey, a whole of encounters which marked the start of a new page in my life. At the end of this trip, convinced by the importance of expanding my comfort zone, I took the opportunity to continue my studies in the United States. I obtained a Master of Music in voice pedagogy in contemporary music studies at Shenandoah University in Virginia. The teachers encouraged me to answer an important question: why do you sing?


This question highlighted my need to communicate, create connections, express my emotions, create in the moment, be in flow, and listen more to my body and intuition. Free vocal improvisation then becomes a new resource on the path to my emancipation and my quest for new, more global, and inclusive educational tools. I went to Rhinebeck (NY) and Berkeley (CA) to study CircleSongs with Bobby McFerrin and his team, completed the All The Way In program with Rhiannon in 2023, and the Leading Música do Círculo training with Zuza Gonçalvez, Ronaldo Crispim and Pedro Consorte in Brazil in 2024. I also continued to deepen my knowledge of the body in movement by taking Feldenkrais classes with Robert Sussuma and Fabienne Coupet. I also participated in a workshop on the alphabet of the body created by Molik Zigmunt with Jorge Parente in Nantes. I am now exploring the Axis Syllabus method with Claire Reid in Guelph, Canada.


All this research work is part of pursuing my PhD, which I started in 2021 at the University of Guelph in Canada. I now give courses and workshops in North American Universities and offer workshops in France and Canada, particularly a course called La Voix en Présence, which I co-host with my friend, stagecoach Laura Abad. I am also pleased to announce my return as a songwriter under the name iwa with the new EP ADN, which will be released in 2024.


I look forward to meeting you and seeking your voice of possibilities and creativity.

* Contemporary and Commercial Music

  • Música do Círculo leading training 2023-24 (Brazil)

  • All The Way In 2023 with Rhiannon (Hawai'i)

  • The online Voice Incorporated with Robert Sussuma

  • Vocal River with Rhiannon (Acton Vale, Québec)

  • Circle Song School with Bobby McFerrin and his team (Berkeley, California)

  • Body and Voice with Jorge Parente (Nantes)

  • Cirlce Singing: It's all about Us with Bobby McFerrin and his team (NYC)

  • Vocal River with Rhiannon (Chicago)

  • Online Vocal River with Rhiannon

  • Vocal lab: the magical and the practical with Onome (NYC)

  • CCM institute 2019 (Winchester, VA)

  • Voice Foundation 2019 (Philadelphia, PA) 

  • VASTA 2018 (Seattle, WA)

  • PAVA 2017 (Toronto, ON) 

Voice Science conferences attended
 Artistic projects
Training programs since 2019
Podcast & interviews
bottom of page

top of page
img19.jpg
IMG_58641 (1).jpg

Erwan Noblet 

Coach vocal / Chanteur / Improvisateur / Auteur-compositeur

Master de Musique en pédagogie de la voix MA*

Certifié Vocologist (NCVS)

Screenshot (58).png
shenandoah.jpg
NCVS_edited.jpg
University of Guelph College of Arts.png

Je suis un explorateur passionné par la voix et les vertus émancipatrices du chant. La technique vocale, la connexion corps-voix, le pouvoir émancipateur du chant collectif et l'improvisation vocale sont au coeur de mes recherches, de mon enseignement et de mes propositions artistiques.     

 

Entre 2012 et 2017, après dix ans en tant que chanteur dans différentes formations musicales de variétés, rock, soul-funk, j'ai décidé de me former en tant que professeur de chant tout en développant mes projets artistiques. J'ai alors fait une formation de six mois sur le coaching vocal à l'école Atla à Paris, puis étudié pendant trois ans la science et la pédagogie de la voix avec Allan Wright (formation professeur TCM) à Nantes. J'ai également pris des cours de jazz vocal avec Monique Thomas à Bordeaux et Bob Stoloff à Paris. En parallèle, j'ai continué à être sur scène avec mon projet électro-pop Layenn, la pièce musicale Concert Room et le spectacle improvisé Airs de Rien avec le collectif Nantais Les Paillettes. 

En 2017, je suis parti étudier les principes physiologiques et acoustiques de la production vocale aux Etats-Unis avec le professeur Ingo Titze (éminent chercheur américain sur la voix) pendant 2 mois et ai voyagé seul du Canada à la Bolivie les 10 mois suivants. Un périple ressourçant riche en rencontres qui a marqué le début d'une nouvelle page dans ma vie. A la fin de ce voyage, convaincu par l'importance de continuer à étendre ma zone de confort, j'ai saisi l'opportunité de poursuivre mes études aux Etats-Unis et obtenu un Master de Musique en pédagogie de la voix dans les musiques contemporaines à l'Université de Shenandoah en Virginie. Les professeur.es m'ont encouragé à répondre à une question importante : pourquoi chantez-vous ?

Cette question a mis en lumière mon besoin de communiquer, créer du lien, exprimer mes émotions, créer dans l'instant, être dans le flow, écouter davantage mon corps et mon intuition. L'improvisation vocale libre devient alors une nouvelle ressource sur le chemin de mon émancipation et ma quête de nouveaux outils pédagogiques plus globaux et inclusifs. Je suis allé à Rhinebeck (NY) et Berkeley (CA) pour étudier les CircleSongs avec Bobby McFerrin et son équipe, ai complété le programme All The Way In avec Rhiannon en 2023 et la formation Leading Música do Círculo avec Zuza Gonçalvez, Ronaldo Crispim et Pedro Consorte au Brésil en 2024. J'ai également continué à approfondir mes connaissances sur le corps en mouvement en prenant des cours de Feldenkrais avec Robert Sussuma et Fabienne Coupet, en participant à un workshop sur l'alphabet du corps crée par Molik Zigmunt avec Jorge Parente à Nantes, et j'explore désormais la méthode Axis Syllabus avec Claire Reid à Guelph au Canada.   

 

Tout ce travail de recherche s'inscrit dans la poursuite de mon PhD que j'ai débuté en 2021 à l’Université de Guelph au Canada. Je donne désormais des cours et ateliers dans des Universités Nord Américaines et propose des workshops en France et au Canada, notamment un stage qui s'appelle La Voix en Présence que je coanime avec mon amie, coach-scénique, Laura Abad. J'ai aussi le plaisir de vous annoncer mon retour en tant qu'auteur-compositeur sous le nom d'iwa, avec le nouvel EP ADN qui va sortir courant 2024. 

 

Au plaisir de vous rencontrer et de chercher avec vous la voix des possibles. Erwan.

* Musiques Actuelles 

  • Música do Círculo leading training 2023-24 (Brésil)

  • All the Way In 2023 avec Rhiannon (Hawai'i-Italie-Canada)

  • The Voice Incorporated avec Robert Sussuma

  • Vocal River avec Rhiannon (Acton Vale, Québec)

  • Circlesong School avec Bobby McFerrin et son équipe (Berkeley, California)

  • Body and voice avec Jorge Parente (Nantes)

  • Cirlce Singing: It's all about Us avec Bobby McFerrin et son équipe (NYC)

  • Vocal River avec Rhiannon (Chicago)

  • Vocal River en ligne avec Rhiannon

  • Vocal lab: the magical and the practical avec Onome (NYC)

  • CCM institute 2019 (Winchester, VA)

  • Voice Foundation 2019 (Philadelphia, PA) 

  • VASTA 2018 (Seattle, WA)

  • PAVA 2017 (Toronto, ON) 

Conférences sur la science de la voix
Projets artistiques 
Formation depuis 2019 
Podcast - Interviews 
bottom of page